UNESCO Creative Cities

UNESCO, the United Nations Education, Science, and Culture Organization, started the Creative Cities Network to facilitate international relationships within creative industries. Cities are designated in one of seven categories: Literature, Film, Music, Design, Craft and Folk Art, Media Arts, and Gastronomy. Once designated, member cities collaborate on international initiatives designed to preserve local heritage, foster cultural diversity, and promote cultural tourism.

There are currently sixty-nine UNESCO Creative Cities worldwide, and eleven UNESCO Cities of Literature:

Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Dublin, Ireland
Reykjavík, Iceland
Norwich, England, UK
Kraków, Poland
Heidelberg, Germany*
Granada, Spain*
Prague, Czech Republic*
Dunedin, New Zealand*

* New in 2014!

Learn more about UNESCO’s Creative Cities program.

Click through to view a UNESCO Google Map of all Creative Cities.